Wil White

Athlete Overview

Name: Wil White
Age: 17
Hometown: El Cajon, CA
Discipline: MTB Big mountain freeride, slopestyle.
Sponsors:Division 26 Clothing, Karpiel, Duncon, Spinergy, Oakley, Dirtydog mtb, Nobrakesracing, Marzocchi, Redbull.


Athlete Interview

When did you start riding 2006

Do you come from a Moto or BMX background? I raced BMX for a little bit when I was in elementary school, but that got boring pretty quick. I've always ridden motorcycles, both on and off-road with an emphasis on supermoto. I'm a pretty crappy dirtbiker compared to my biking haha!

Wheres your favorite place to ride? Virgin, Utah

What is your favorite trick? Probably the superman and any variation of it. I like the feeling of getting super extended off the bike and then finding your pedals again...I do not care for spinning bike parts, however. No t-whips or barspins for me hahaha.

If you weren't riding, what would an ideal day be? Why would I not be riding? Hahha...I'd start with a nice supermoto street ride on the local twisties, then head out on my dirtbike to do some desert riding. After that, go pick up my girlfriend and my friends and head out to the local cliff diving spot to get our water huck on! I'd like to end the day with a kick-ass snowmobile powder session...As if that would ever happen though :P

Who/What has had the biggest influence on your life? Biggest influence on my riding without a doubt is Josh Bender and the original double down senders! Those guys were just straight going for it on heavy, long travel bikes and Bender was just proving that there really is no limit to what can be done on a bike. I look at the stuff he has survived and it makes me wonder; hey, what's stopping me from doing it? The original FRO riders also did some amazing stuff back in the day.

Who do you most admire in your sport? Why? I think the people I admire the most in slopestyle is any rider who really earned where they are, which is most of us...I'm talking about the riders who didn't have a jump park in their back yard, or a foam pit within an hour's drive to them...Just all those up-and-coming riders who are just getting rowdy and sending it to dirt and paying their dues.

What next for you? Hopefully I can continue to ride my bike everyday and keep having fun with it! I'm hoping to do more pro slopestyle comps, and I'm definitely competing in the next rampage when it rolls around again! I also have my eye on the world record for highest drop. I believe it sits around 50-60ft, and I'd love to beat that some day. I'm currently scouting, but haven't found anything...yet.

Favorite band(s) Music: Anything and everything! I've always loved Clutch, Hot Action Cop, ASG, and most of the dubsteb genere is pretty good. I like music I can ride too, I almost always have headphones in!

Related blog posts